Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Detailing Products > Waxes, Sealants & Paint Protection
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Waxes, Sealants & Paint Protection Sponsored by DODO JUICE Light Fantastic , Banana Armour, Orange Crush, Rainforest Rub, Purple Haze - www.dodojuice.com

Old 04-09-2020, 11:07 AM   #1
Muska
Sponge Jockey

Garage
Zymol Atomic Graphene Shield - Initial thoughts

As a bit of an early adopter for this product I thought it might be beneficial to offer some insight into how I find it. I've no experience of a Graphene product and previously on my R32 I've been very happy with 2 coats of Gyeon CanCoat topped with Polish Angel high Gloss or Zaino Grand Finale.

Before I consider stripping things back and applying to my car the test bed will be the Wife's White A Class! She does around 3/400 miles a week and depending on my shift pattern it can go from 1 week to 2 weeks between maintenance washes. I've used only the bonnet for now, which had no prior coating applied.

Washed with CarPro Reset (all future washes will be with this shampoo also)
Prepped with CarPro Eraser.
CanCoat applied to drivers side with a microfiber applicator
Zymol Atomic Graphene shield applied to passenger side with a microfiber applicator.

First thoughts. It definitely goes on easy. Not 'grabby' when buffing off like CanCoat can be and definitely more slickness on that half of the panel.

I've not told the Wife which side is which, so she can give an unbiased opinion. The car is daily driven so I'll see what water behaviour is like over the weekend after CanCoat is cured and I'll go from there.

Offside

Nearside, obviously neither showing too much, white car not helping much there either.