Detailing World  

Go Back   Detailing World > Lifestyle > The Tech & Gadget Zone
DW Home Forum Home Merchandise Store Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

The Tech & Gadget Zone Gadgety, Techy or even a Techy Gadget! Stick a post in here! Sponsored by SlimsDetailing - inspired by anybody who has a car they love and care for

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29-10-2020, 04:19 PM   #1
beatty599
Orbital Oracle
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 519
Thanks: 8
Thanked 164 Times in 136 Posts
Running two monitors with laptop

Hello,

I was hoping someone could help me on how to set up two monitors to my work laptop, as I tried an HMDI splitter to no avail. I think this is where I'm going wrong at least.

Cheers
Willy
beatty599 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2020, 04:31 PM   #2
St Evelyn
Washmitt Meister
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Posts: 185
Thanks: 72
Thanked 147 Times in 113 Posts
When I use 2 in the office they're connected via different means - one via USB and the other by display port (with an HDMI adapter attached). Guess it depends on what outputs your laptop has available.
St Evelyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2020, 04:34 PM   #3
Derekh929
Distinguished Detailer
 
Derekh929's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Aberdeenshire
Posts: 15,153
Thanks: 9,791
Thanked 6,479 Times in 5,189 Posts
I have a laptop USB C dock the laptop does not sit on it just a small box powered that connects via USB C and then you can connect all from their and sort in windows 10 monitor share or Imac etc
Derekh929 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2020, 05:02 PM   #4
Will_G
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aberdeen
Posts: 1,802
Thanks: 266
Thanked 749 Times in 642 Posts
Garage
Send a message via AIM to Will_G Send a message via MSN to Will_G Send a message via Skype™ to Will_G
I use a docking station similar to what derek mentions above but my laptop sits in it. Then it has a multitude of connections on the back for 2 different monitors.

What is the make and model of the laptop?
Will_G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2020, 05:24 PM   #5
AnthonyUK
Washmitt Meister
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 287
Thanks: 21
Thanked 155 Times in 119 Posts
You either need a traditional dock which not all laptops support, A USB C to HDMI/Displayport adaptor (or dock), a monitor that supports Displayport daisychaining or a native USB C (thunderbolt) monitor.

A splitter as you've discover doesn't do what you want it to.
AnthonyUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2020, 08:39 AM   #6
beatty599
Orbital Oracle
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 519
Thanks: 8
Thanked 164 Times in 136 Posts
It’s a Lenovo T450 laptop but ideally I want to run my Macbook Pro on it from time to time (but not a big problem if not) I ordered a refurbished lenovo dock box, the one that sits beside the computer for £30.00, hopefully this sorts it.

Thanks for the help so far folk, I’ll update you when it arrives.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
beatty599 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2020, 09:55 AM   #7
GeeWhizRS
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
GeeWhizRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: North West England
Posts: 1,246
Thanks: 396
Thanked 836 Times in 568 Posts
Garage
A splitter should work fine, but you need the right one. You're looking for '1 in 2 out' and it would be powered. I used one to take the HDMI signal from my amp and then split it to two HDMI outputs, 1 to projector and one to TV. It worked perfectly.
The one I have is no longer available but something like this should do https://www.amazon.co.uk/Neoteck-Spl...%2C213&sr=8-20
GeeWhizRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2020, 01:25 PM   #8
Cookies
Distinguished Detailer + Dw Reviewer
 
Cookies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: County Down
Posts: 8,091
Thanks: 14,865
Thanked 6,660 Times in 4,608 Posts
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeeWhizRS View Post
A splitter should work fine, but you need the right one. You're looking for '1 in 2 out' and it would be powered. I used one to take the HDMI signal from my amp and then split it to two HDMI outputs, 1 to projector and one to TV. It worked perfectly.
The one I have is no longer available but something like this should do https://www.amazon.co.uk/Neoteck-Spl...%2C213&sr=8-20
I think that set up might only duplicate the displays, instead of extending the display.

I've had to use a docking station for my laptop which has two separate Display Port outputs. That allows me to have three separate screens running with separate windows open on each.

I tried one of the USB to HDMI adapters, but didn't have any success with it.

Good luck, OP.

Cooks

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Cookies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-2020, 04:05 PM   #9
GeeWhizRS
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
GeeWhizRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: North West England
Posts: 1,246
Thanks: 396
Thanked 836 Times in 568 Posts
Garage
I thought that's what he was trying to do. 🤷
GeeWhizRS is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GeeWhizRS For This Useful Post:
Cookies (31-10-2020)
Old 31-10-2020, 12:10 PM   #10
IanG
OCD Sufferer (Obsessive Car Detailer)
 
IanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,765
Thanks: 519
Thanked 719 Times in 640 Posts
Garage
I use one of these with a Surface Pro so it in effect gives me three screens and I connect to two monitors with HDMI but the dock does HDMI and DVI out so to get two HDMI connections I just bought a DVI to HDMI cable to use alongside a HDMI cable and it works fine and using it for working at home and is basically what I would have in the office
https://smile.amazon.co.uk/gp/produc...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

AGRJ3980.jpg
IanG is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to IanG For This Useful Post:
John-R- (02-11-2020)
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
DTO Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors